Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

  • Provider Coursera
  • Subject Big Data
  • Cost Free Online Course (Audit)
  • Session Finished
  • Language English
  • Certificate Paid Certificate Available
  • Start Date
  • Duration 5 weeks long
  • Learn more about MOOCs

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Sign up to Coursera courses for free Learn how

*********
A new, improved version of the Big Data Specialization will become available on June 6! As such, enrollment for this course and all courses in this original Big Data Specialization will close on June 6.

The original Big Data Specialization will continue to run until September 2016, when the Capstone will be offered for learners in this version of the Specialization.

If you are in the middle of the Specialization and have purchased the entire original Big Data Specialization before June 6, Coursera will reach out to you to offer you the option of staying in the original Specialization or taking the new version.

If you are just getting started on this Specialization, we recommend that you wait until June 6 to enroll in the new version.

*********


This course is for novice programmers or business people who'd like to understand more advanced tools used to wrangle and analyze big data. In this course you will be guided in basic approaches to querying and exploring data using higher level tools built on top of a Hadoop Platform. You will be walked through query interfaces, environments, and the canonical situations for tools like HBASE, HIVE, Pig, as well as more general tools like Spark-SQL. After this course you will be able to identify the kinds of analysis you can get of big data and how to interpret these results.

Syllabus

HBASE: Hadoop's database
In this Module we will talk about HBase - Hadoop’s database, a distributed, scalable, big data store.

HIVE: a Hadoop-based data warehouse
In this Module we will learn about Hive, the data warehousing infrastructure based on Hadoop that facilitates querying and managing large datasets residing in distributed storage.

PIG: A Dataflow Engine for Hadoop
Wouldn’t it be nice if you could quickly gather/sample/view and perform simple analysis on HDFS data? Then PIG might fly for you! This module will introduce the essential concepts and basic execution of PIG.

Splunk: Log Analysis and More
Welcome to the data analytics with Splunk module- this week, we’re going to go further in our quest to examine different ways and tools to deploy analytics on large dataset and gain valuable insight.

Spark for Analytics
Welcome to Spark for Analytics, this week we will learn about Spark SQL. Spark SQL provides a higher level interface to process your data and write more expressive code. We'll focus on data exploration, cleaning and plotting.

Taught by

Paul Rodriguez, Andrea Zonca and Natasha Balac

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about Coursera Coursera

Reviews for Coursera's Introduction to Big Data Analytics
1.0 Based on 10 reviews

  • 5 star 0%
  • 4 star 0%
  • 3 star 0%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 stars 100%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Anna C
1.0 3 years ago
by Anna is taking this course right now, spending 5 hours a week on it.
It's a joke of course. Take some other course, do not loose time & money.

They do not teach either well and/or interesting things ond/or pedagogically well. The material for teaching is inexistent, no reference books that can help because they do not teach. They have done some "cut and paste" with too much cut => Gaps

The tools used, as for instance HIVE takes more than 5 hours for running a simple command. So if you male a couple of mistakes you lose a day.

No, this course is no serious.

I do not understand these people showing their incomp…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Oliver T
1.0 3 years ago
by Oliver completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be very easy.
Part 3 of the Big Data Specialization was definitely mediocre. I no way do I question the technical expertise of the lecturers, but from the perspective of instructional design, the course was awful. The contents were presented in a dull fashion, the quizzes had a focus on replicating facts instead of showing comprehension and were not always constructively aligned to the videos, and I am not even sure what I learned from the assignments: I spent more time figuring out how to install the missing software components than actually using them.

Furthermore, you are forced to use a commercial software. While it can be obtained without further costs, you are forced to "pay" with your contact data, and you must opt-in to receiving emails. I really don't like that attitude. Additionally, when trying to install the software, my Ubuntu system informed me about quality/security issues. I rather installed the software in a virtual machine.
13 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Pablo T
1.0 3 years ago
by Pablo is taking this course right now, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
The course is implemented in an unprofessional and mediocre manner. All the practice "hands on sections" are walk throughs of the tutorials included in the cloudera QuickStart VM. The quizzes have questions that are just wrong from cryptic multiple choice questions that rely on obscure grammar to "appear harder", to concepts that are included in the quiz before they are taught in class and even one case where the correct answer is not included in the multiple choice and one has to choose an answer that reflects a misconception and poor understanding of the material, in order to get it right.

The one thing that worked with this course was coursera's refund mechanism.

12 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
1.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I paid only for the first "course" (the intro) and after 2 weeks asked for a refund. Compared to other Coursera courses, this one should be called a "lecture" rather than a course.

The content is extremely limited and you are asked to wait for the next courses to really get answers to your questions.
8 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
1.0 3 years ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
teaching / slides / assignments and quizzes have no relation among st each other. Specially Pig module. The lecture videos are like just slide reading and makes no sense even at the end of the lecture. Again Pig module
3 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
1.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course, spending 3 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
The course is absolutely unprofessional. Videos contain obvious mistakes and instructions provided by teachers just do not work. Even more, the virtual machine that is used for hands-on tasks misses some files that are required to pass the assignments.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Ps P
1.0 a year ago
by Ps is taking this course right now, spending 10 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be very easy.
I totally agree with the other reviewers. It seems like they don't have experience in delivering online courses. Would not recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Colin K
1.0 3 years ago
by Colin completed this course.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Mark B
1.0 3 years ago
by Mark completed this course.
0 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Pawel K
1.0 2 years ago
by Pawel completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.