Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Protecting Business Innovations via Patent

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology via Coursera

16 Reviews 3172 students interested
  • Provider Coursera
  • Subject Law
  • Cost Free Online Course (Audit)
  • Session Upcoming
  • Language English
  • Certificate Paid Certificate Available
  • Start Date
  • Duration 5 weeks long
  • Learn more about MOOCs

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Sign up to Coursera courses for free Learn how

Protecting Business Innovations via Patent

Watch Course Overview: https://youtu.be/mUja4iwbrTE

This course assumes no prior knowledge in law, business or engineering. However, students with backgrounds in all three areas will find useful concepts or ideas in the course on how to protect business innovations using patents. The approach taken in this course is practical and commercial rather than theoretical. A combination of lectures and case studies help to illustrate the concepts and make the course more interesting.

After completing this course, students should be able to understand how patents are issued and protect innovations, including: What is a patent? What do they protect? How do we get a patent? Where are patents valid? How much do they cost?

In addition to basic concepts the course also deals with advanced topics such as: software patents, business process patents, patenting life, patent trolls and multiple case examples of large and small companies using patents and patent lawsuits.

We also expect you to have fun in this course. So go forth and enjoy!

Taught by

Theodore Henry King CLARK

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about Coursera Coursera

Reviews for Coursera's Protecting Business Innovations via Patent
4.8 Based on 16 reviews

  • 5 stars 81%
  • 4 stars 19%
  • 3 star 0%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Devicharan R
5.0 a year ago
Devicharan completed this course.
Is very well structured, taught and technically designed, good job, team Coursera. I would highly recommend this to people who are interested in learning more about IPR.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 6 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
My journey through out the course was enjoyable. I did learn many things and was surprised to know them. There were many facts that are interesting and very well taught in a simple language which makes it more easy to understand. Over all a good course to learn about patents.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Lina S
5.0 3 months ago
Lina completed this course.
I took this course because I have recently started a new job as a patent paralegal and needed to build a foundation for future work. This course was wonderful - concise yet very comprehensive, it provided a very good overview of this law specialty and introduced basic concepts, as well as made the material more understandable and attractive by adding real-life examples. I highly recommend it to everyone interested in patent law whether as a professional or as an inventor.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Irena K
5.0 a year ago
by Irena completed this course, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
I am a beginner at thr subject, so it was really important to me to find a well explained course. And this one is just what i wanted. I loved the lecturer - the way he talked the vibe he gave, and for non english natives - his accent is very understandable.

So thank you very much for the course!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Chandran A
5.0 4 weeks ago
Chandran completed this course.
The basics of IPR -Patenting ,is explained in an understandable way for beginners and also for the rest of the learners who wish to hone their professional skills. This course gives a global outlook and after completing it I am able to understand the patent procedures in different countries.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 9 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I totally enjoy the course and will want to continue with others in the same series. The course is simple to understand and the lecturer is engaging. Best of all it's free unless you need the certificate. Thank you for the opportunity to learn.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Kaustubh C
4.0 4 weeks ago
Kaustubh completed this course.
Course is well planned, covered all expected things, good to attend all technical persons.. its good facility created for working engineers.. this covered all aspects related to patent
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Roy M
5.0 a year ago
Roy completed this course.
This course helps with learning new experience of knowledge and the instructor are clear explaining the detailed information and the quiz gives a good way of showing infomation it needs.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 7 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The whole course has been great. It helped me develop the knowledge pertains to the subject matter; and the tutor is wonderful, he presented the content and material excellently.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 12 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
this course is well structured and designed. first it was little hard to finish and then it was easy. this course actually taught about patents and everything . good job.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Rocky W
5.0 4 months ago
Rocky completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
It's a very practical, business oriented, and insightful class. The professor is very professional with rich practical experience. I learned a lot from the class.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Harsh L
5.0 12 months ago
Harsh is taking this course right now.
a very good course to do and very interesting to do abc def harsh laxmichand can study about the patents and habe to answer the question and all
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 4 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This course is quite good and informative. Helped me in understanding the basics of utility of patent in protection of business innovations.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 7 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.


Very interesting course with many examples.

Very clear and pleasant to follow. Gives a good general knowledge about patent law. )
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
One of the best courses that give you detailed and a lot of information on patents. I highly recommend participating in this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 6 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Good course with real world cases.

The chapters are well-structured and the progression in complexity is easy to follow. I recommand.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.