Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Online Course

Agile Solutions for Greater Innovation

University System of Maryland via edX

633

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Innovation differentiates companies in the products produced, and the impact those products have on their customer’s lives.

In this course, you will learn how innovation and speed are tightly linked, and the benefits of better targeting and solutioning in achieving faster benefits delivery. Faster delivery leads to faster feedback for learning; and faster learning leads to higher quality solutions at speed. But beyond the emphasis on fast iterative development, you will also learn about the practices that create structure and space for innovation in Agile that are missing from traditional management. These paradigm shifts include:

  • Delivering business value, not technical scope with User Stories
  • Using Cross-functional teams and user stories to gather accurate requirements 
  • Leveraging constraints to derive creative capability solutions.
  • Applying Test-Driven Design (TDD) to deliver better designs with less designing
By following best practices of Agile, including timeboxes, constraint-based thinking processes, and empathetic problem solving, you’ll learn how to provide a sustainable innovation environment for your teams.

Upon successful completion of this course, learners can earn 10 Professional Development Unit (PDU) credits, which are recognized by the Project Management Institute (PMI). PDU credits are essential to those looking to maintain certification as a Project Management Professional (PMP).

Syllabus

  • Week 1: The first week of Innovation revisits concepts of capability delivery from technical perspective; asking how do we achieve a project’s purpose to innovate? What are the risks and methods to be successful in delivering a defined output under uncertain conditions? Here the Theory of Constraints (TOC) is used to target innovation for maximum impact.
  • Week 2: The second week dives into the requirements gathering and validation process, and the science behind the most powerful requirement tool, a User Story, and how it forms the basis for Test-Drive Development (TDD).
  • Week 3: The third week looks at how adding constraints to solutioning unleashes creativity, luck, and productivity towards solving hard, uncertain problems.
  • Week 4: The fourth week culminates with the application of the TOC Thinking Processes, User Stories, and Constraints along with the use of the powerful system engineering solutioning techniques (isolation, absorption, acceleration, etc.) and tools like TRIZ.

Taught by

John Johnson

Tags

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about EdX

Reviews for edX's Agile Solutions for Greater Innovation Based on 24 reviews

  • 5 stars 71%
  • 4 stars 17%
  • 3 stars 8%
  • 2 star 4%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Pablo G
8 months ago
Pablo completed this course.
It is a very theoretical course, interesting, full of examples, but is lacking the low level detail of each example provided.

I mean, it´s a good frame of knowledge, but would be better to include more real world examples of applying the different methods and techniques commented.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Sulayman M
9 months ago
Sulayman completed this course.
It`s really amazing I learn a lot, is very easy to learn this way. I recomend i,m very thankful is simple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I found the content to be more of a fly-by than something you could actually put to use. Many tools and techniques were mentioned in passing e.g. TRIZ, then the course moved on to the next thing.

I would have liked to have a couple of through-going case studies (real or fictionalized) that you return to again and again to illustrate an aspect just mentioned in the lessons. Perhaps you would cover less total ground but at least you would get more out of the things you did cover by this technique.

I audited this course (i.e. did not pay). At the end of the course it says that even auditing students could test themselves in the final exam. However, I clicked around multiple times and never found an exam (although a timer was ticking away at the top of the screen).

I suspect there is no final exam for auditing students, in which case the course flowchart needs to be fixed.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
Well designed course with great content. The course teaches evidence-based approaches to agile project management, and shows an understanding of what drives teams to understand the client context, perform, and deliver with a high success rate. I'm a project manager with an Australian university, and I'm already applying many of the principles and practices to improve our performance in education projects. Well done!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Andrea A
8 months ago
Andrea completed this course.
Great content broken down into nice bite size pieces which were perfect for fitting into my already busy day. Learned a lot that I could begin applying immediate, which is fantastic!

I only have one issue and that is the number of typos in the course material, including in the timed exam. If that were cleaned up, I would probably add another star, but there are so many that it's distracting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Í'm taking the course prior to getting into an scrum product owner certification course. The course is snappy, the videos are easy to consume, text summaries are somewhat helpful... but they're full of typos! Please fix those typos, they're quite unnerving. Exam questions are also full of typos and make for questions that aren't intelligible sometimes, and lead to some guess work.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
11 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Another excellent course on Agile. The lessions are quick, direct to the point and with very interesting examples from various areas, including the instructor's personal experience, which clearly helps with the illustration of the concepts. I've recommended this series of courses to several business and engineering students, I advise you to do the same!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Daniel C
6 months ago
Daniel completed this course.
Outstanding presentation on requirements gathering and validation process. The course outlines why innovation and speed are tightly linked to achieve the end result. Innovation is what sets you apart. Don't be afraid to fail, but limit the impact by narrowing your scope.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
7 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I truly liked the way in which the material was exposed, it antecedents and examples. Nonetheless, as a BA and Finance Professional I would like to see a bit more of cases focused on enterprises and banks with financial examples and not so many military stories.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
As all the courses in the series so far, this one is carefully developed, easy to understand, but still challenging enough to really learn something. Everything is also easily accessible to sight or hearing impaired people.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Venkatesh H
8 months ago
Venkatesh completed this course.
The course has been very useful in setting the tone and mind set for innovative and out of the box thinking required to be a successful leader. A must for every person who aspires to be an effective leader
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This course goes into a lot of theories and studies performed, so it's important to stay focused and keep up with the topic being discussed. I really enjoyed learning about the history that led to Agile.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Warren L
3 months ago
Warren completed this course.
I have taken all five Agile courses in the Project Management set. John is an amazing presenter, and the material is fantastic. Much, much better than other online courses I have taken. 6/5 stars!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Yumary M
8 months ago
Yumary completed this course, spending 24 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be very hard.
Good course, excellent for Agile Methodologies, I have a good experience and the material was wonderful, the topics of Innovation was update and the chapter about user stories was interesting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Martha C
8 months ago
Martha completed this course.
A very interesting course. Complete and Concrete. I have learned a lot and obtained useful and practical information, specially concepts and possibilites. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
12 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I had the honor of beta-testing this course and John Johnson, the professor, does an amazing job of explaining concepts and creating enthusiasm for the topic.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
7 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Simples, pratico e muito instrutivo. Recomendo não pensava que aprender fosse tão facil.

Achei que fosse mais um curso mais foi surpreendido pela Positiva.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
8 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The lectures were OK, but the notes and follow-up questions were so poorly writtent that I often could not understand the point the lecturer was trying to convey.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
10 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I never expected this course to be so amazing. Thanks a lot for putting up this course and helping a lot to progress in their careers
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
great course, very helpful. It gives lot of perspective to approach things more effectively and tell you what you should not do
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free