Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Computing in Python I: Fundamentals and Procedural Programming

Georgia Institute of Technology via edX

22 Reviews 1735 students interested

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

This course starts from the beginning, covering the basics of how a computer interprets lines of code; how to write programs, evaluate their output, and revise the code itself; how to work with variables and their changing values; and how to use mathematical, boolean, and relational operators.

By the end of this course, you'll be able to write small programs in Python that use variables, mathematical operators, and logical operators. For example, you could write programs that carry out complex mathematical operations, like calculating the interest rate necessary to reach a savings goal, recommending apparel options based on weather patterns, or calculating a grade based on multiple percentages.

Structurally, the course is comprised of several parts. Instruction is delivered via a series of short (2-3 minute) videos. In between those videos, you'll complete both multiple choice questions and coding problems to demonstrate your knowledge of the material that was just covered.

Syllabus

Chapter 1: Computing. The fundamentals of how computers work, what program code is, and how to get setup for the rest of the course.

Chapter 2: Programming.  The basic principles of computer programming: writing and running code, evaluating results, and compiling vs. executing.

Chapter 3: Debugging. The common results of running program code, and how to use those results to inform revision of your code.

Chapter 4: Procedural Programming. The fundamental approach to program code: writing sequences of lines of code that run in order to accomplish an objective.

Chapter 5: Variables. Creating and modifying variables, tracing how their values may change as a program runs, and understanding the role of data types.

Chapter 6: Logical Operators. Working with relational (greater than, less than, equal to) and logical (and, or, not) operators to make decisions in code.

Chapter 7: Mathematical Operators. Adding addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, modulus, and exponents to your code, and seeing how they work with unexpected data types.

Taught by

David Joyner

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about EdX EdX

Reviews for edX's Computing in Python I: Fundamentals and Procedural Programming
4.8 Based on 22 reviews

  • 5 stars 86%
  • 4 stars 9%
  • 3 star 5%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Hamzah A
5.0 2 months ago
Hamzah completed this course.
It is very helpful for beginners!. Really it was interesting.

I appreciate it for edX :)

I will take the second course of python soon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Wim L
5.0 2 months ago
by Wim completed this course, spending 35 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
I have programmed - without taking any course - in Python 2.x more than 10 years ago (and I forgot most of it). I am interested in data science and was looking for a Python course as a first step up. I was also looking at an introductory programming course suitable for my kids; Python is perfect for that.

I have followed all 4 "Computing in Python"- courses, and I feel ready now to take on more advanced Python courses or books.

Each course is divided in 4 chapters, each chapter ends with an "exam", the course ends with a final exam. Each course took about a week to …
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I really enjoyed this class - the use of the interactive textbook, coding challenges, and multiple-choice quizzes were perfect. I'm also a big fan of how Georgia Tech does not do terribly long video instruction - they break it up into bite-sized chunks of information that make it easier to consume information and stay engaged with the material. Highly recommend the class and look forward to taking more in the Python CS1301 series.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The combination of instruction via videos and reading, partnered with many assessments along the way help this course stand above many others that teach the same or similar content. Great Class!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I took this course on edX as someone almost completely new to programming languages. I've learn basic C++ and HTML around 8 years ago, but I've forgotten all of it. The progress of the course is very comfortable and is really helpful to set a good foundation for new programmers. The practices along the way also helps solidify concepts that they teach. I am looking forward to subsequent python courses! For someone who is working part-time, just an hour everyday is sufficient to complete this course in a few weeks. For people who can commit a couple days, I believe 4 days would be enough to cover the entire course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Danica S
4.0 3 weeks ago
by Danica completed this course.
If you have any programming background this is a pretty easy course to move through. While I've never used python before, I currently use SQL on a regular basis for work. Because of this, I already understood many of the core principals of programming, so it was a matter of me learning how to apply it using python. Would definitely recommend this course for those looking to get their feet wet in python. Even without any programming experience, I feel the way in which the content is explained makes learning the tool pretty accessible.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Neville C
5.0 2 months ago
Neville completed this course, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be very easy.
This is a very easy way to learn how to program using Python. This is not a crash course for learning Python. This is a very good introduction to programming. I tried several times to learn Python and failed because many programmer like "the hard way", which may be good if you already know how to program. I highly recommend this series from David Joyner and Georgia Tech. It is well explained and have good exercises.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Excellent content and presentation. The only problem I had was the class "engine" several times the system did not keep track of where I left off after a given session. I started tracking where I left off so I could manually restart in the correct place if the system misplaced me. Other than that, I'll be starting the next class tomorrow!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The class is great for very beginners or people who never had any programming experience. I ended up scanning thru, but Dr. Joyner does an awesome job explaining the concept in a very simple way and with reasonable examples. Moving to the next class level with huge doze of impatience.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I love this course. I gave only 3 stars because I couldn’t open so many videos from my smartphone, so

I just skipped them. I would really appreciate it if you would make a mobile version. Thank you for the course ☺️
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The videos are clear, brief, and informative. The practice problems are gradually incrementally more difficult and provide immediate positive feedback for both successful and unsuccessful attempts for the desired code.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Basic course but well outlined and with enough resources to make exercise.

It follows the ancient Latin principle of Repetita Iuvat giving you the opportunity to make the concepts your own.

Basic but well done.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Myroslava H
5.0 2 months ago
Myroslava completed this course, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
A good course to start with Python. At the beginning it's more theoretical, but later there were interesting practical tasks. I also liked Smartbook, which helps to work with information and do tests.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I enjoyed the course as the instructor clearly explained concepts and gave relatable examples to help foster the learning processs. For me, as a newbie in programming, I needed this:). Thank you.:)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
David does a great job explaining the fundamentals in an engaging and clear way. The additional resources also help expand on the teachings and providing different approaches of learning.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Mkdn M
5.0 a month ago
Mkdn completed this course, spending 8 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Extremely well explained course. Thoroughly enjoyed!

Don't look for any other "Intro to computing+python course".

I looked a lot, tried a few and this is by far the best.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
thanks for such a nice well structured course. worth it. will be enrolling in part 2 of this course too.....

one of the best courses for learning basis of computing
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Gabriela B
5.0 2 months ago
Gabriela completed this course.
This course was easy to follow and really interesting to understand. I had not coding experience before, but I was able to learn a lot and have fun.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course was great. Its ideal for people that don´t know anything about programming. Can be used to teach programming to the childs.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
A very good course if you want to thoroughly test what you are learning.A very hands on course. Lots of practice questions.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.