Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Computing in Python II: Control Structures

Georgia Institute of Technology via edX

17 Reviews 1567 students interested

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Building on your prior knowledge of variables and operators, this course gets into the meat of programming. Organized into five chapters, this course starts by covering the fundamentals of what control structures are and what they do, then moves on to four common control structures in Python. Conditionals let you modify what your program does based on the values of incoming variables. Loops let you repeat tasks for multiple values or while certain conditions hold true. Functions let you encapsulate complex reasoning into reusable chunks of code. Error handling lets you intelligently recover from anticipated and unanticipated glitches.

By the end of this course, you'll be able to write complex programs in Python that perform useful reasoning. For example, you could write a program that calculates your weight on other planets, calculates the standard deviation of a series of numbers, or checks for the validity of an incoming password.

Structurally, the course is comprised of several parts. Instruction is delivered via a series of short (2-3 minute) videos. In between those videos, you'll complete both multiple choice questions  and coding problems to demonstrate your knowledge of the material that was just covered.

Syllabus

Chapter 1: Control Structures. The basic role of control structures in general: lines of code that control other lines of code, determining when they execute.

Chapter 2: Conditionals. Building complex reasoning into our code by letting it make decisions based on the changing values of variables, like recommending a raincoat if it's going to rain or issuing a passing grade if a student's average is over 70.

Chapter 3. Loops. Building even more complex reasoning with for loops and while loops, both of which repeat certain lines of code over and over for every value in a list or while some condition is true.

Chapter 4. Functions. Encapsulating blocks of code into reusable functions that can be called as needed, including specifying their input and dictating their output.

Chapter 5. Error Handling. Reacting gracefully when anticipated or unanticipated errors occur during your program's execution.

Taught by

David Joyner

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about EdX EdX

Reviews for edX's Computing in Python II: Control Structures
5.0 Based on 17 reviews

  • 5 stars 100%
  • 4 star 0%
  • 3 star 0%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Bozhidar M
5.0 2 months ago
Bozhidar completed this course, spending 12 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Course is well organized. Videos are frequent and large. Explanations for most of the stuff are comprehensible. I enjoyed the coding exercises the most. As a non-native English speaker, i had sometimes difficulties understanding what exactly tasks ask me to do. Hint for the rest non-native English speakers. Get in touch over internet with natives and ask for help for the meaning of the tasks any time you encounter difficulties.

Am happy to follow the rest of the courses in Computing in Python.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Wim L
5.0 2 months ago
by Wim completed this course, spending 35 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
I have programmed - without taking any course - in Python 2.x more than 10 years ago (and I forgot most of it). I am interested in data science and was looking for a Python course as a first step up. I was also looking at an introductory programming course suitable for my kids; Python is perfect for that.

I have followed all 4 "Computing in Python"- courses, and I feel ready now to take on more advanced Python courses or books.

Each course is divided in 4 chapters, each chapter ends with an "exam", the course ends with a final exam. Each course took about a week to …
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I found the CS1301xII course to be well organized, the lectures are well presented and succinct, and problem sets are extensive and detail common mistakes and nuances. This is an excellent primer into Python concerning if/then/else statements, for and while loops, and error catching with try/except/else/finally blocks. The math required is basic arithmetic. David Joyner seems like a professor to follow.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
These classes taught by David Joyner are amazing! David Joyner breaks everything down so well and understandable that you wont have trouble learning to code at all. I take classes at my local college and these classes are a lot better, organized and easier to understand. This is the best online course for learning python anyone can take! So if your reading this and are wanting to learn to program in Python, or learn the foundations of programing, then take these courses!

If I ever get a chance I would love to shake your hand David Joyner! Not sure if you will read this, but you helped me make a big decision in my life. To pursue my dream in technology (Cyber Security) vs nursing! If not for you man, I would have gone to school for something I dont have much interest in, and would have lived my life doing so. So Thank You!

Shout out from Rio Rancho, New Mexico!

Mark A. Chavez

markychaz@gmail.com

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course was excellent! I really feel like I could start to at least write small python programs on my own with what I learned in this course and the first. I got a much better understanding of concepts, mainly functions. I also love the fact that we had sample problems and tests to go along with the material we covered. Not just "this does that. now you do it" type of teaching. This course really helps you to understand the logic behind the code so that you can code better on your own. Really worth the time and money!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
G L
5.0 2 months ago
by G completed this course, spending 10 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Thank you Mr. David. I have done the chapter 2 and going to chapter 3 soon, but tomorrow is the first day of second semester, maybe i'll continue in a few days. I had studied C++ on first semester so it isn't so hard for me to cope with learning python. But anyone who wants to learn python even from NULL experience can start with this course!! i really recommend it, because the way the lecturer explain things is quite very detail so YOU CAN DO IT!! Best Luck for you!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Neville C
5.0 2 months ago
Neville completed this course, spending 5 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
This is a great course to learn how to program. If you already know how to program, this may be a bit slow. But if you are trying why is that you use different for and while loops, this is right for you. I tried several time to learn Python and got frustrated with crash courses. I did not need to learn Python, what I needed was to learn how to program using Python. I highly recommend this course series from David Joyner and Georgia Tech.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Andreas D
5.0 2 months ago
Andreas completed this course, spending 7 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
The course really helped me to improve my skills in programming with python. It is a good introduction for people who have just little experience in programming and want to be guided step by step. The professor explains everything very well. Because you always make small steps forward, you never feel overwhelmed.

All in all it is a great course that I can recommend to everybody who wants to get started with python programming.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
It is a very well planned course, both the theoretical part and the practical part and contains a lot of useful information, examples and programming problems to solve that make it interesting and entertaining to take the course
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Andrew N
5.0 2 months ago
by Andrew completed this course.
The structure and pace of the lesson plan provides the right amount of material to ensure you grasp the concepts. The assignment and lessons build on one another well and helps you envision the road maps to master other lessons.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Wolfgang H
5.0 2 months ago
Wolfgang completed this course, spending 15 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Thanks a lot for an almost perfect learning experience!

Well structured theoretical stuff quickly followed by practice, practice, practice....

That's what keeps you holding on!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Part 2 of a well-designed series of python courses for beginners that emphasises practice, practice and practice and doesn't fall too short on formal things.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I highly recommend this course. It was an interesting course. It was explained in detail.

Thank you so much edx and I appreciate all your efforts!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Easy to go along with short video explanations and exercises about it right after - perfect to learn python by oneself and at own pace.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Great course for people interested in learning how to code. Explanations and material are understandable and it builds up from the ground up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The Python introductory courses from GTx are great. If you want to learn Python, I recommend taking the courses. I have learned a lot
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This course was great! There are tons of practice questions that help to reinforce your knowledge of all topics covered.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.