Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Online Course

Tsinghua Chinese: Start Talking with 1.3 Billion People

All-Time Top 100

Tsinghua University via edX

9.2k
Found in Foreign Language
  • Provider edX
  • Cost Free Online Course (Audit)
  • Session Self Paced
  • Language English
  • Certificate $49 Certificate Available
  • Effort 2-3 hours a week
  • Duration 6 weeks long
  • Learn more about MOOCs

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

This introductory Chinese language course will emphasize basic language skills for everyday life in Mandarin speaking countries.

The course utilizes pinyin, the standard system of Romanized spelling for transliterating Chinese, so learners will find it easy to understand and study the language.

The course is composed of several parts: Dialogues (taught through pinyin), listening comprehension exercises (in real-world situations), Chinese characters (frequently used in daily life), Mandarin songs, and Tea Time (tips for self-study).

This course is for anyone interested in learning Mandarin Chinese, especially if you plan to work or study in Mandarin-speaking countries. The course is also a good start toward the HSK Chinese proficiency test.

Taught by

Xia Ding, Xiaoning Wang, Li Lu and Yuan Li

Class Central Charts

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about EdX

Reviews for edX's Tsinghua Chinese: Start Talking with 1.3 Billion People Based on 66 reviews

  • 5 stars 91%
  • 4 stars 8%
  • 3 star 2%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Anonymous
4 years ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
The content is for beginner, but it's enjoyable to follow with Peter's story here and there. So it's not monotonous.

Even the videos are broken down into one-minute chunks, since they know we're too lazy to watch anything above one-minute. I've learnt Mandarin before and grew tired of the basics already (I'm not saying that I'm proficient already; my real level seems to be stagnating in the basics).

Overall, this course seems interesting as a review. Looking forward to more Peter's adventure.
5 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I can't recommend this course enough. This is a masterclass on how an online course should be designed, and how a second language should be introduced. Whether you're living in China or overseas, a total novice or just need a refresher, there's something here for you.

The progression of grammar concepts and vocabulary is spot on - not overly repetitive or patronizingly slow, but also not frustratingly difficult. Where this course really shines is in the review questions between the video segments. Whoever designed these questions deserves an award and a promotion; the incorpo…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I've just finished the Mandarin Level 1 course given by Tsinghua University.

The overall course was amazing. Not only very high quality content, and great lessons, but also very useful content for everyday living in China.

The course is also very entertaining, mixing a back story that develops over the whole course.

There are also great technological tips that make Mandarin learning, and living in China easier.

This is an amazing course, everyone interested in starting to learn Mandarin should take it, and should expect completing it and being very motivated to keep on learning, just as I am right now.

Xìexie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This is the best MOOC i've taken in my life, and i've taken quite a few. It's like being part of a TV show or a movie, where you are part of a story, get to meet characters, identify with them, and feel sad when it all ends. Except that instead of a movie it is your journey into the Chinese world.

The teaching is top-notch, short, lucid videos, plenty of practice exercises, you learn how to write characters, totally practical spoken chinese, excellent actors and overall it is such a fun experience. Best part - its self-paced so no stress about meeting deadlines.

Absolutely worth it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This course is good for beginners, it provides a lot of useful phrases. The focus is less on writing, so if you seek to learn written Chinese, it might not be your cup of tea.

2-3 questions in the quizzes were a bit unclear, and the speakers in the audio quizzes are a bit too fast for a complete beginner I think.

I'd also like some basic phrases like: "I did not understand" or "Please talk a bit slower" included in that course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This is one of the better beginner courses I've encountered. The stress on tone is quite good. The character lessons are also insightful, although I must emphasize that Wang Laoshi's stroke order is of utmost importance -- I don't think that was stressed enough. Grammar is not a huge deal in Mandarin, but students should be open-minded to some of the differences from European languages. I have already recommended this course to others, and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
An excellent, pragmatic introduction to Mandarin. The course is very professionally built, and executed. With such a generic, wide approach and course mission it must be very hard to get it right - but the course team miraculously managed to keep the course in the "Goldilocks zone" :

- not too hard to scare beginners, but not too easy and shallow to become useless;

- addressing everything including writing, tones etc, but still not getting lost in details;

- etc

Well done, and 谢谢!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I really loved this course. It was easy to follow, yet challenging compared to some monotonous online classes. It made me pay special attention to tones and tested me how well I listened. That helped a lot. I also loved that they did not forget to include character writing. The backstory was also very interesting. It was exciting to progress each week. The teachers and staff seemed very warm nice people.
3 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This was he best course I have ever taken. wonderful for beginners like me and the structure of this course was very well. I really felt involved and it as never boring but rather entertaining. I must say that I had no difficulties to follow along and I enjoyed the reading and writing of the chinese characters. I hope there could be a continuation of this course. I would definitely take it. Xiexie
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This is a very good course, and covers a lot. It is simply explained, interesting, designed in short palatable pieces and was also really fun. I loved all the presenters on it and I really felt like I was really involved in a group lesson. Very highly recommended to anyone wanting to get a basic grasp of the Chinese language. Thank you Tsinghua University and your exceptional team.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Nkwelle C
2 years ago
by Nkwelle completed this course.
I have taken and proud to say i completed the course. Its simple with wonderful lectures and course instructors. the self based aspects is also a great feature. The lessons are just awesome for day to day interactions. The interface and structure, i have also enjoyed. Being free is a massive thumbs up for Tsinghua. I greatly appreciate. If you ever want to get some basics in Chinese Mandarin then just coming running over here.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 years ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
I was an exchange student to TSINGHUA last year. It was a great university, and I enjoyed my life in Beijing (except for the air pollution). I saw many familiar scenes in the promotion video like Wudaokou where I have many happy memories.
5 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Laura P
2 years ago
by Laura completed this course.
The course takes you through very useful topics that revolve around our everyday lives. I really enjoyed the interesting storyline, little plot twists and good tips for studying and being in China. It also offers great lessons on characters that really inspire you to understand more about Chinese characters. It is actually not that hard! Really suggest trying this!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
John B
12 months ago
John completed this course.
Having taken a community language course in Chinese in the 1980s, this course's quality, pace, and support materials have provided a more than adequate base to restart my Chinese studies. Clear, well defined objectives with testing, encouraging well done videos, challenging assessments, and stories of interest i.e. the history of each character, the course captivates and holds the interest of a student - me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Great course, especially considering the $0 price tag. All information covered at a beginner level. Topics are most relevant to learning a new language or visiting China for the first time. Lost of information here. I spent closer to 18 weeks completing, but I took notes, reviewed before starting each section, and spent extra time on any quiz question that was difficult.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I started taking this course online having not the slightest idea of Mandarin Chinese. After weeks I have eventually finished it. Quite a journey I guess, but now I can communicate a little bit in Chinese though I have yet a lot more to learn. I love all the laoshi in this course that helped me with the pronunciation and the writing! Xie xie! Wo hen ai nimen
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 years ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
As an American I feel rather embarrassed that so many Chinese people living here in the US speak very good English, so few of us native-born Americans even try to learn Chinese language. I hope to change that with this wonderful class!
4 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Fantastic course! Clear, well organized and engaging.

An excellent course for beginners.

Maybe a little too fast paced for my taste.

Great vocabulary and perfect pronunciation.

The best chinese online course i've found.

4 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
It was such a wonderful and beautifully designed course!. I thank each and everyone behind the task.Congratulations to the people who prepared the quiz.Some of the questions were really challenging.There was so much fun in answering them.I feel proud that I could learn an entirely new language. I am eagerly waiting for"Tsinghua Chinese level-2".
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Having studied Chinese before, I used this course a refresher.

It was my first MOOC so I do not have much references but I have to say the production quality is high and the content well organised. The course does a great job at giving a general overview of the Chinese language with real life applications. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free