Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Online Course

English in Early Childhood: Language Learning and Development

All-Time Top 100

British Council via FutureLearn

2.3k
Found in ESL, Humanities
  • Provider FutureLearn
  • Cost Free Online Course (Audit)
  • Session In progress
  • Language English
  • Certificate $59 Certificate Available
  • Effort 2 hours a week
  • Duration 6 weeks long
  • Learn more about MOOCs

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

##

How do very young children best learn English as an additional language while they’re still learning their mother tongue? How and why do children learn best through play? What can parents and practitioners do to enable children to get the most out of a learning experience?

This course for parents and practitioners will explore how young children learn English and investigate many more aspects of early childhood learning and development.

British Council educators will share their insights and experiences, so that you can learn how to best talk to young children; how to create the best environment for them to learn English as an additional language; and how to monitor their progress.

Through articles, videos and live events you will hear from early childhood experts and parents, and see for yourself how young children learn inside the early years classroom. At every stage, you will be offered tips, advice and downloadable resources.

You will join discussions and have the opportunity to interact live with our experienced educators.

This course will be of interest to you if you are: a parent of young children who wishes to support their child learning an additional language; an English teacher or an early childhood practitioner; or someone who is interested in the area of child development and language acquisition.

If English is not your first language please be reassured that this course is suitable for those who have learnt English to around intermediate level (approximately B1 on the CEFR).

The principles of learning an additional language during early childhood apply to all languages, so if you are a parent, teacher or practitioner interested in teaching languages other than English, you will find plenty of relevant methods in the course.

Taught by

Sheona Gilmour

Class Central Charts

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about FutureLearn

Reviews for FutureLearn's English in Early Childhood: Language Learning and Development Based on 123 reviews

  • 5 stars 85%
  • 4 stars 13%
  • 3 star 1%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 1%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Anonymous
3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I found it interesting especially because I have never worked with very young children. I think I have also found some common grounds with teaching English to older pupils, especially about the exposure to the language and the language in context.

Personally, I will always be grateful to the British Council because most of my career has been positively influenced by British Council materials, conferences , events; a nice percentage of what I have learnt about my profession (I am a teacher of English) , I owe it to the BC.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Teaching English as an additional or foreign language is challenging. The course "English in Early Childhood: Language Learning and Development" lasts for 6 week with focus on : 1- development stages 2- playing in childhood 3- interaction 4- learning in meaningful context 5- safety and trust 6- observation and assessment. Three main theories in learning " interaction" , " exposure", and "ZPD" are discussed and their relationship with learning in childhood is elaborated. I think this is an absolutely essential course for whom want to enter teaching additional language to children in early ages. I liked the course, the ideas, the videos, and the whole material prepared here. I appreciate all the staff's support. Thank you very much , Good job.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
Excellent course for both parents , carers & professionals. Everything is in bite sized chunks, so you can complete one small piece when you have time, or get a large amount done. There are no strict time limits to complete, the course will be open for a little longer than the time announced. You could complete it all in a week if you wanted to.

Futurelearn is excellent with a wide variety of courses to suit all interests. There are some interesting autism courses which are run from time to time which are excellent and may also be of interest.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I thoroughly enjoyed this course - thanks to the British Council for bringing up a course like this and the informative talks by various educators ..... I feel so confident, happy and proud to have learnt the importance of English in early childhood, the various methods and activities and use of better resources, which will help me understand and change the life of every child and make me a better practitioner.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Mckyla F
4 months ago
Mckyla completed this course.
I had the idea of early childhood in my head but I've never been exposed to this kind of information. This course is a game changer for me and my students. They are going to eat English up! The questions and answers are very valuable.

I now have pointers and ideas I've never had before, thanks to this course my intelligence has widened. I've noted all your advice and guidelines and going to make the most of it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I have learnt very helpful tips which have been helpful in improving my interaction with children since I started the course. Through the course, my relationships with children have been changed positively and I have found out that every of a child's activities beats around experimenting and then learning which is a good thing to know for me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Asdoost A
2 years ago
by Asdoost completed this course, spending 1 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be very easy.
For a long time I have been looking for a MOOC about Child language acquisition. I was glad to find this course, but it was disappointing. The course is more parental advise than a scientific course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
English in Early Childhood: Language Learning and Development is very interesting course to take in count if you wish to up-date and take a wide knowledge about teaching early childhood.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
6 days ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
I praise my grandchildren saying,”you are clever. “ But I also say, ‘You can do it “. Borrowed from you can do it Cinderella. Now I must use clever sparingly and praise and stress the effort .

This course is brilliant . I have learnt a lot in this three weeks and I have also learnt to assess the nurseries that my grandchildren go to. One (A) is extremely good and seems to follow what was talked of in the course. The other (B) seems to be only a childminding place. Development is not advocated so much. The one who started this September in (A) is younger by 2 months and was-b…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
2 days ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
The Course on Teaching Young Learners hepls me, as an educator, to understand what we should do to contribute to young children's second language learning. I've got to know that interaction with children, that is joining in their play, asking simple questions, commenting, facilitates their development. I've also learnt that such interaction can boost their intrinsic motivation, but labelling,even positive, can disempower them. Children should know that they are in control of their actions.

I liked mini lectures of James Nottingham a lot and the experience of different teachers and parents, shared with us, was of great value for me. There are a lot different additionals materials we can download on the discussed problems.

To be frank, I hoped I'd find here also some the information about teaching the second language to 6-8 year-olds. But it is not the end of the course, so there might be something about the children of this age in other units
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I'm personally going to be taking a college course in September for early years child development and thought this course would helpful in preparation. I couldn't be happier that I took this course. I've learned so much about how children learn and how to encourage young children to continue to learn even if they don't realize it.

I was home schooled my whole life and love that during the course the teachers pointed out how assessment can't always measure where a child is. I personally loved hearing James Nottingham talk about assessment and how it can't measure a child's determination, courage, creativity and so on. I feel better equipped for my course this September and what I want my early students to remember and experience while they spend their time in my classroom.

Thank you so much for providing this course,

-Karlyne O.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
What a course!

I'm speechless with your work throughout this six week course. Getting to know that I'm on the right track, reassures my teaching life.

Thank you for the links, the videos.

I wish there were more weeks for us to go further.

I liked a lot how you girls made us observe the children around us. Too bad, it's during the winter vacation in Brazil. And some of the observation had to come from memories and report notes. But it was so wonderful that I decided to upgrade my course in order to get the certificate.

I'm thankful for your help.

I'll definitely keep in touch with you and I'll be taking a Cambridge CELT-P or TKT-YLE this semester to put it in practice the knowledge from this experience with you girls.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
7 days ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
Prior to the course, I had some ideas on how to approach teaching very young learners, but I wanted to learn more about children; how they learn and what I can do to help them use the language naturally. Enrolling for the course has been the best decision I made. The course has provided me with insight to the importance of play, how children develop, the importance of communication with other teachers and parents and ways we can observe, assess and plan our lessons. It also provided me with several opportunities to reflect and apply some ideas / techniques. The course would benefit anyone who is a parent, a caregiver or interested in teaching young learners.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
I have found this course very enlightening as to how to teach and deal with children wether you are a teacher or not. I am really learning and enjoying doing it, there are so many topics. I just finished week 3 and so far it’s been amazing. I wish I had known all this when my kid was young.

There is one thing I would like you to clarify. On many instances we are told young children should not watch tv, phones, tablets, etc. But I would like to know if they can watch some videos with children’s songs for a few minutes once a week. I believe it helps with the vocabulary. What are your views on this particular issue?

Congratulations for all your work!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
I have found confirmation of some theories I have always strongly supported, as a teacher of English to teeenagers, namely that, whatever the learner's age, the activities have to be carried out in English.

Then , the learner's age will make the difference as to the "quality and quantity" of the teaching, but this sounds obvious, indeed.

Essentially, communication, interaction, context and a friendly atmosphere are the key words for teaching and learning English as a second language. Empathy is necessary with toddlers and with learners of any age too, as without authentic mutual interest there's no process of learning at all.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 days ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
A good and refreshing way to reflect on the way we conceive, perceive, and interact with childhood.

The main asset of the course is helping us to discover the way we can connect with children. In my case, I think that EMPATHY and COMMITMENT are crucial to link with kids and to share their experiences as well as a definite way to come closer to them.

THANK YOU for helping us to notice the existing barriers and to help us to think about how to crush them by means of a change of our established mindset.

Everything needs to be improved since children are the future of our world.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 days ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
I think this course is really helpful as it shows the reality of dealing with children. Experts on children, teachers, parents and carers are interviewed in it and they share very useful ideas to deal with and teach children. Besides, along the course, you are provided with many other great resources such as opinion articles, videos and reports where you can find further information to put into practice when dealing with babies, toddlers and children in general. I strongly recommend the course for anyone interesting in the early childhood.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
I like this course very much! I am a 3 years old girl's mother. She is learning English in a languge center one whole day each week. I and her father speaks to her in English as much as possible. I read English stories to her. However, she hasn't started to speak yet. She answers me in Chinese when I talk to her. I feel worried sometimes. It is a excellent that I am learning this course now. It is a systematic way to really understand how children learning an adding languge. I feel much better now!

Thank you to all the educators and orginizers!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
1. The curriculum is designed very well, apt, short, appropriate.

2. The sections are well planned.

3. The views from teachers, experts helped to understand the concept so we'll.

4. The quiz helped so much which also was so non judgemental, void of labelling and not competitive!

5. The downloads are so so important notes. Thank you for all the notes!

6. The comments section is what I will miss as I made new friends and followed few!

7. Overall, I have found a purpose to why English should be at our home!

Thank you!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This course is very useful for me. I did not fully comprehend how the very young children learn the second language. I know now that Children learn their home language by playing with language, and it’s a fun way for them to learn another language too! The articles and videos about praising, positive relationships are very inspiring.

Surely, I use Rhymes, songs and chants in the classroom and I am aware about the importance of play and I’ve got some very useful tips about the Effective Classroom Management.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free