Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Introduction to Dutch

All-Time Top 50

University of Groningen via FutureLearn

105 Reviews 1145 students interested
  • Provider FutureLearn
  • Subject Foreign Language
  • Cost Free Online Course (Audit)
  • Session Finished
  • Language Dutch
  • Certificate Paid Certificate Available
  • Effort 3 hours a week
  • Start Date
  • Duration 3 weeks long
  • Learn more about MOOCs

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

Start learning Dutch today

Are you planning to visit, or work or study in the Netherlands? This online Dutch course is perfect if you have little or no prior knowledge of Dutch but would like to learn the basics to help you understand life in the Low Countries.

Over three weeks you will learn Dutch from experts at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands. You’ll learn how to introduce yourself and talk and write about family, friends, work, study and daily live. Your basic Dutch language skills should make living or visiting the Netherlands even more enjoyable.

This course is aimed at people with no prior knowledge of the Dutch language, who have a strong interest in learning languages. It will give you a taste of language skills that will help you to survive in Dutch-speaking countries. The main focus will be on receptive skills like reading and listening. It will be taught in English.

Class Central Charts

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about FutureLearn FutureLearn

Reviews for FutureLearn's Introduction to Dutch
4.9 Based on 105 reviews

  • 5 stars 87%
  • 4 stars 12%
  • 3 star 1%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Anonymous
5.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Not bad if you are starting learning dutch from scratch. The best thing to me were the dialogues, those are usually missing from other language learning platforms around the web and I needed to learn some expressions for everyday chit-chat. Another perk is that the course is quite interactive, with quizzes, fill-in exercises, and fairly active moderators that help the students by answering their questions in the comment sections. A good course overall.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I just finished this course, and having already studied Dutch for a few months I found the course very interesting, although as to be expected a little bit easy. There are a few things I like about the course, there's plenty of audio and listening materials / exercises, and more importantly - with transcripts. First they introduce the language, then the transcript and then finally teach you the meaning. In my opinion it's a really good way to learn pronunciation and get used to how the language sounds. It's only a 3 week course, and I'd prefer it to be a bit longer, but for beginners to language study or to Dutch it's perfect to dip into and get started. They touch on a number of topics during the course (including the dreaded grammar - which is explained very clearly), and there's some repetition of material, so you can get a good ground knowledge of the basics. I recommend it to anyone who is interested in Dutch, or even just wants to try an online language learning course.
5 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Alathea A
4.0 12 months ago
by Alathea completed this course, spending 5 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
I enjoyed the course and I certainly gained a lot from it. Each week of the course starts with a couple of dialogues which bring in the vocabulary and grammar which will be studied during the week. At the end of the week you listen to the same dialogues again, and realise how much you have learnt, which is encouraging.

Input from the course team was good.

A couple of things stopped me giving this course five stars:

1. Three weeks makes for a very short introduction. In particular I felt that the course could have benefited from some units explicitly deal…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is really well designed, and enable you to have a look at the basics of the Dutch language. There are a lot of audio samples, as well as videos, in order to help you get accustomed with the oral language. On top of that, you can find a few rules of grammar and syntax, and you are always invited to write and speak in between the different notions studied. It's a really good way to get started in the language!
4 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I really liked the variety. Most favourite part was the video recording of students learning Dutch and speaking to each other. Close second favourite is listening to audio recordings and choosing a response to what you've heard. Third is listening to students around the world that have done this course speaking about themselves. Very well done. However you need to put time aside as it's quite a heavy workload per week. I can definitely recommend it.
3 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Kim R
5.0 3 years ago
by Kim completed this course, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
loved this course learned about the culture, the food. Learned the basics of how to introduce ourselves, hold a conversation, talk about ourselves.

The audio and video lessons really helped with pronounciation and the tutors were great. Above all being able to interact with other students really helped.
3 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I truly enjoyed this course and the varied methods of learning. From videos and audios to mini-quizzes and games. Since completing the course today, I feel confident in being able to use the Dutch I've learnt This includes talking about where I am from, my family, work and other basic phrases.
2 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
I had only just begun learning Dutch on my mobile when I started this course. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I learned so much. It hS given me confidence to study further and I am thinking of going to the Nederlands to do a short and intensive Dutch speaking course. I highly recommend the course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is well prepared, grammar sections are especially well done, the quizlet practice package is very helpful for better results, listening, writing , talking, understanding, ..., and even some cultural studies all are covered. Thumbs up for the team, try this course out for yourself!
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I find this course very helpful for those who are just still trying to learn dutch. I've been trying to learn Dutch by myself but it seems my progress is quite slow. Knowing the grammar foundations and phrase construction really helped sped up my learning and speaking. Veel success!
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Brenda S
5.0 3 years ago
by Brenda completed this course.
It was a wonderful class, very well structured with instructions that were easy to understand. You can work at your own pace and take the time you need in each lesson. When I had a question on a subject they were always answered.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Erin D
5.0 3 years ago
by Erin completed this course.
I enjoyed the course and I have learned a lot. The professors were professional and kind and encouraging. I encourage all of you to begin to learn Dutch. You will have to practice a lot but that is expected. Loved the course!
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Andrew M
5.0 3 years ago
by Andrew completed this course.
An excellent basic introduction to the Dutch language that teaches both useful phrases for travelers and casual conversation, as well as basic grammar needed to pursue further Dutch studies. Recommended.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Good introduction to Dutch, I spent about 15 hours per week on the course with the additional quizlets. Would sign up for the next course with the University of Groningen.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 6 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Really good course, using quizlet and very clear explanations and video conversations. I recommend this course to everyone who’s visiting or planning to move to The Netherlands.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I have been very impressed with this course particularly as it was the first that I have studied through a MOOC. I thought the course content was well structured and pitched at the appropriate level for an adult learner. The lecturers were caring and keen to help us all to learn. The overriding impression that I have come away with is that the course was full of integrity - this does not seem so evident when I look at other advertised online language courses. There is now an incentive for many of us to go on and continue our university studies perhaps in Groningen.

I am pleased t…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Michael H
5.0 12 months ago
Michael completed this course.
I really liked this course. I lived in the Netherlands for the summer several years ago, but never tried to learn Dutch. That's been bugging me ever since, especially because I still watch football with a Dutch broadcast all the time, even though I can't understand it. I started learning Dutch with Duolingo in late December and enrolled in this course in late February. It's been a great help! My favorite part of the course are the Quizlet quizzes, which are the closest thing you are going to get to having a person read you flash cards and ask you the meanings of words and phrases. The Quizlet…
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Having just begun my Dutch learning experience I found the course very interesting, and a lot harder than expected. There are a few things I like about the course, there's plenty of audio and listening materials / exercises, and more importantly - with transcripts. First they introduce the language, then the transcript and then finally teach you the meaning. I found this to be a great way to learn pronunciation and get used to how the language sounds. It's only a 3 week course, and I'd prefer it to be a bit longer, but for beginners to language study or to Dutch it's perfect to dip into and get started. They touch on a number of topics during the course (including the dreaded grammar - which is explained very clearly), and there's some repetition of material, so you can get a good ground knowledge of the basics. I recommend it to anyone who is interested in Dutch, or even just wants to try an online language learning course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Roman N
5.0 2 years ago
by Roman completed this course, spending 8 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Course is really basic (A1) but has clear nice structure and is really high quality one. I have started it year ago then had no time and returned to finish and confirm my 'natural progress'. Now I understand every phrase and find everything really clear. Videos, audios, transcripts are just fantastic. Grammar explanations are not so detailed but remember, this is just introduction so this is fair.

Just be warned that if you really are following course as an absolute beginner I would recommend at least 8 hours per week or even more. There are more than 300 words and phrases involved so 3 hours per week are definitely not enough. I do recommend to do all quizzes including external ones. This makes a bit competition and allows your progress estimation more clean way.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 3 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
this introductory course was very thorough. There was opportunity to practise reading, writing, and speaking. the dialogue videos were engaging, the grammar explanations were thorough with transcipts available. The sound recordings were helpful as was the Quizlet link that gave more opportunities to revise and practise. On top of this there was information about Dutch culture and interesting film clips showing this university town. I was surprised at how much I learned in such a short time. there was a huge amount of work to cover but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 years ago
Anonymous completed this course.
It is an excellent opportunity. You get nowhere free Dutch course as far my knowledge except here. If you are self interested and able to adhere to the schedule then you will be able to understand the Dutch in 3 weeks.

Though I already learnt a bit from website, this particular course with its exercise of listening, writing, quiz and speaking made me confident and can understand when the native speakers speaks.

Big thanks for Futurelearn and Groningen university.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.