Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Elements of AI

University of Helsinki and Reaktor via Independent

76 Reviews 2443 students interested

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

The goal of this course is to demystify AI

The elements of AI is a free online course for everyone interested in learning what AI is, what is possible (and not possible) with AI, and how it affects our lives – with no complicated math or programming required. By completing the course you can earn a LinkedIn certificate. People in Finland can also earn 2 ECTS credits through the Open University. The course is available from May 14, 2018.

After taking the course, you will be able to:

  • Understand some of the major implications of AI
  • Think critically about AI news and claims 
  • Define and discuss what AI is
  • Explain the methods that make AI possible

 

Syllabus

Part 1

What is AI?

Part 2

Solving problems with AI

Part 3

Real world AI

Part 4

Machine learning

Part 5

Neural networks

Part 6

Implications

 

Reviews for Elements of AI
4.8 Based on 76 reviews

  • 5 stars 88%
  • 4 stars 9%
  • 3 star 1%
  • 2 star 1%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This course gives you an uptodate, good picture of AI and its possibilities and restrictions. It also clarifies some terminology that is still not fully established. A very clear structure, well divided to sections. Tasks vary from easy to really challenging ones, at least for a person who has not studied maths and statistics other than the basics.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Pat B
4.0 3 months ago
by Pat completed this course, spending 3 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
The overall and weekly course objectives were stated clearly, much more clearly than many other courses I have explored.

The course had lots of reading, including extra links to other pages. There were no videos. Each chapter’s material consisted of three pages, but they were long pages full of comprehensive information. It was an excellent introduction to just what AI is and the implications in today's society of the many applications of AI both now and into the future. The assessments were unforgiving, with only one attempt available for most questions. I made basic mistakes in some answers but managed to pass the course quite comfortably.

I found the course surprisingly interesting!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Godwin A
5.0 3 months ago
Godwin completed this course.
I like the kind of awareness this course provides, helping everyone from different works of life to see how they can relate in the fields of AI. One of the most simple, non-boring, good material content, captivating free online certification course ever. Thought at first I will not have enough time to take the course because of my kind of schedule but when I started, just with my mobile phone, I couldn't let the course down. The most exciting part was wanting to see what your peers think about your review and waiting for your certificate.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
3.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course for me was too chatty meaning that the text was full of irrelevant sentences. Despite the fact that those sentences were on-topic, they were more like decorations rather than giving more in-depth information. In addition, there should have been more text-related graphs and schematics to further enchance learning. Although, there were lots of pictures, only few were illustrating actual information the text told. Overall, the course did give an insight into AI.

This doesn't suit well for those who like to get to the point, who have photographic memory or want to have a more informative introductory course into AI. Despite this, the course would suit very well for, say 9th graders or younger. But also for those people who do not study technology yet want to have a good life-like overview about AI with every-day examples.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Alexander S
4.0 a month ago
Alexander completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
I found this course to be a fantastic introduction to the conceptual as well as technical elements of artificial intelligence, machine learning, and deep learning. Although these aforementioned fields are heavily rooted in algebra and advanced calculus, the course content was very good at breaking down all of this complexity for those of us who do not necessarily have a conventional mathematics background.

Some of the modules (such as the module on neural networks) might warrant you having to watch a couple of additional videos for further clarification, but on the whole, I really enjoyed the experience of working through this course.

I encourage anyone who is interested in this undoubtedly exciting intellectual space to give this course a go!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Olivier B
4.0 5 days ago
Olivier completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
Il est nécessaire d'améliorer la compréhension du domaine de l'Intelligence Artificielle en entreprise, ce qui permettrait d'ouvrir sur de nouvelles possibilités tout en limitant les fantasmes...

Ce cours de l'Université de Finlande (https://lnkd.in/gH3QvJx) est assez agréable à lire et permet un premier niveau d'acculturation au sujet, en montrant de façon concrète les grands principes, avec des exercices qui ne feront pas de vous un Data Scientist (^_^), et en évoquant les sujets sociétaux.

Un article des Echos présentant la génèse du cours : https://lnkd.in/gsRrDxB

Ayant une mémoire visuelle, j'aurais apprécié un peu plus d'illustration des différents concepts au fur et à mesure du cours (ce qu'il manque pour une 5ème étoile).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Very interesting course with some basic reading on AI and underlying logic. Very practical examples and hands on excercises based on readings and examples. The course content is logical and very halpful in learning the basics on how AI works. I found the content to be from easy to moderately difficult. A little of mathematical understanding is needed, but course had good links to supplementary information for refreshing or learning needed topics. It was also good that one can do course in own speed or the course can remind you to do one chapter (six in total) per week, which is quite nice and relaxed space.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
John L
5.0 2 months ago
John completed this course, spending 5 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be hard.
I found this course interesting and necessary for a basic understanding if AI. The course was structured so that the concepts evolved nicely from beginning to end.

I recommend this course to anyone who wants to start their journey into the understanding of AI. I now have more insight into the biases of google search and facebook ads and i understand the need to look for alternative searches so as to not be bogged down by liberal biases as exemplified in google, facebook, and twitter.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
2.0 4 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I did not find the reading and the exercises well balanced. Reading was fun, the goal and focus of the exercises not so. For someone having studied some maths and computer science - just read the text or take another class; you’ll get frustrated with the vague definitions used in the exercises.

I finished the course just to improve the statistics of the course itself ;)

(Thumbs up for the effort of preparing the course, with still a bit more effort it will be a good one)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Duarte S
5.0 2 months ago
Duarte completed this course, spending 4 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
I really appreciated this mini-course. It explains to you the basics of AI by simple everyday analogies making it suitable for an average adult to succeed in comprehending the basis of AI. Also, they make funny jokes once in a while. Overall, I'd highly recommend this course for anyone interested in really understanding how Google algorithms work or the present state of AI without the unnecessary and frequent alarmism we usually see on TV.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Habibu A
4.0 4 weeks ago
Habibu completed this course.
If you're looking for an entry into Artificial Intelligence (AI) don't look beyond this course.

This course provides good foundation to AI.

It's starts off by highlighting the relationship between AI, Machine Learning (ML) and Deep Learning (DL) and how it align with statistics.

The key concepts are well explained for amateurs in AI to understand.

I recommend this course to new people who want to understand the basics of AI.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
For me as a Governmental clerk that take interest in contemperary world and the new technical sollutions and try to use as much as i feel i need and can. This was an Eye opener and yet a balanced view of AI development. It was quite challenging to follow the logic and different aspects of machine lerning bt it was all rightfully handled and easy to follow. I highly recomend this course !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
I have read a lot about AI before and understand implications from a philosophic, economic, society and political view. But I am not a software engineer and not a data scientist. Therefore I was looking for an online course helping me to understand the basic principles of AI also from a technical/mathematic view. And the course is excellent for non-experts!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 weeks ago
Anonymous completed this course.
An excellent introduction to AI and an excellent example of how to make e-learning interesting with a good balance between theoretical knowledge, examples, practices and peer reviews. The ethics and societal implications of AI is covered in a good way and the maths and the statistical content was easy to follow even for a non technical person like me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is well-structured and full of very practical, everyday examples that help you follow the otherwise not-always-easy contents. The tasks are often challenging, but they make you learn. At the end of it you do feel that you've gained important insight and relevant (new) knowledge, perhaps even more so than with other online course providers.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Sarath J
5.0 a week ago
Sarath completed this course.
Fantastic Course!

The team behind the course has clearly detailed the concepts from basics that it would keep you connected all through the course. Don't worry on the exercises after each topic, a pen & a book is sufficient to work it out.

This course is equally valuable for people who are either into AI work or just curious about it.

All the best!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Very interesting and inspiring. Perfect level and mix of information but also elements of statistics/mathimatical proplems which challenged you to do some real problem solving which I really enjoyed.

also a lot of food for thougt. this will help me a lot when discussing AI, what does it really mean, what will it take us, possibilities and constraints
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Clémence A
5.0 a month ago
Clémence completed this course, spending 7 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Such a great course for beginners and curious ones about the concept of AI. The course is an excellent introduction, absolutely non-boring, a really fresh and exciting material. Also, you really have to carefully read the chapters in order to complete the assessments, that require a bit of logic and full comprehension.

Great course!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is an excellent introduction to AI. It is aimed at anyone interested in the topic and does not require advanced math skills. I found the course useful especially in providing a starting point for further studies in AI.

I'd recommend the course to anyone interested in AI whether you mean to go deeper later or not.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is easy to digest and perfectly suitable for the target market - all residents of Finland, except - I am in South Africa and I completed the course. It's a type of course that keeps a person captivated. The course is well written and very informative. In my opinion the course achieves what it was set out to do.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.