Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Online Course

Understanding IELTS: Techniques for English Language Tests

British Council via FutureLearn

696
Found in IELTS, Test Prep
  • Provider FutureLearn
  • Cost Free Online Course (Audit)
  • Session Finished
  • Language English
  • Certificate Paid Certificate Available
  • Effort 2 hours a week
  • Duration 6 weeks long
  • Learn more about MOOCs

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

##

Anyone thinking about taking an English language test, such as IELTS, will find this course particularly useful, but all English language learners will benefit from the tips and advice given in the course.

The course focuses on the IELTS test (International English Language Testing System). IELTS is the world’s most popular English language test for higher education and global migration. IELTS is accepted by over 10,000 organisations worldwide including universities, employers, immigration authorities and professional bodies. Over 3 million IELTS tests were taken globally last year.

This course will take you through each stage of the IELTS test — reading, writing, speaking and listening. At each stage there will be advice from our video tutor and a team of experienced IELTS educators. You will also be asked to share your experiences, tips and opinions with other learners.

By the end of the Understanding IELTS course, you will:

  • be familiar with all parts of the IELTS test
  • have some useful tips to help you achieve your IELTS goals
  • understand how the IELTS test is assessed
  • have an opportunity to have your written and spoken English assessed by other learners

The British Council has over 80 years’ experience in English language teaching and assessment and delivers IELTS tests in more than 100 countries. The course draws on the British Council’s expertise in online learning.

You can find out more about this course in this post for the FutureLearn blog: “IELTS: a global test for a global language.”

The course is aimed at non-native English speakers at around intermediate level (approximately B1 on the CEFR) or above.

Taught by

Chris Cavey

Class Central Charts

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about FutureLearn

Reviews for FutureLearn's Understanding IELTS: Techniques for English Language Tests Based on 20 reviews

  • 5 stars 30%
  • 4 stars 40%
  • 3 stars 25%
  • 2 star 0%
  • 1 star 5%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Linda S
4 years ago
Linda completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
María
4 years ago
by María completed this course, spending 3 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be medium.
Very useful and interesting to people who have to face english exams, It provides with a lot of resources to practice all of the diferent english skills required for examination.
3 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Kml K
4 years ago
by Kml completed this course, spending 1 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be easy.
good overview and walk through with a lot of useful tips focused directly at IELTS test. Can be done at own pace
2 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Multi K
5 months ago
Multi is taking this course right now, spending 3 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be hard.
I take this course because I want to improve my english language especially how to do IELTS test. I feel difficult to answer IELTS test. I choose this course so that I can study about IELTS test. Now days, we know that many universities in this world use this test. If we want to enroll, we must have score of IELTS.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
10 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
In best of my knowledge this web page help to amend IELTS skills like speaking reading or writing. I prefer this page because in my opinion it’s the best way to improve my skills
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
9 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
This can be a very useful course for students.

Gill Sir – The best Coaching Class for IELTS/TOEFL in Ahmedabad
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Asdoost A
2 years ago
by Asdoost completed this course, spending 1 hours a week on it and found the course difficulty to be very easy.
The course is a simple and good way to be familiar with IELTs. But there is nothing more than that.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Olga P
4 years ago
by Olga is taking this course right now.
2 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Lisa S
4 years ago
by Lisa is taking this course right now.
2 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Kuronosuke K
4 years ago
Kuronosuke is taking this course right now.
2 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Ruth
4 years ago
by Ruth is taking this course right now.
2 people found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anila A
4 years ago
by Anila is taking this course right now.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Ivan K
4 years ago
by Ivan is taking this course right now.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Magdalena
4 years ago
Magdalena completed this course.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Tiziana A
3 years ago
by Tiziana completed this course.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Ira I
4 years ago
by Ira is taking this course right now.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Helen C
3 years ago
by Helen completed this course.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Cita P
4 years ago
Cita is taking this course right now.
1 person found
this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Davinder S
3 years ago
by Davinder completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Tadeusz M
3 years ago
by Tadeusz completed this course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free