Get started with custom lists to organize and share courses.

Sign up

Class Central is learner-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Upper-Intermediate English: Globalization

Universitat Politècnica de València via edX

14 Reviews 162 students interested
Found in ESL

Taken this course? Share your experience with other students. Write review

Overview

This course is the third in a series of four English language MOOCs designed for students with an intermediate level of English looking to reach a higher intermediate level. The course is comprised of video lessons, reading comprehension activities, grammar explanations and exercises, listening comprehension activities and speaking practice.

The course covers interesting topics such as the Edinburgh Theatre Festival, music, films and theatre, migratory movements and indigenous cultures.

 This course also includes preparatory materials and recommendations to take the Cambridge University First Certificate in English Examination (FCE).

Taught by

Prof. Ana Gimeno

Help Center

Most commonly asked questions about EdX EdX

Reviews for edX's Upper-Intermediate English: Globalization
4.3 Based on 14 reviews

  • 5 stars 43%
  • 4 stars 50%
  • 3 star 0%
  • 2 star 7%
  • 1 star 0%

Did you take this course? Share your experience with other students.

Write a review
  • 1
Anonymous
4.0 10 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is well constructed but the timing is a little too pressing as the things to do are numerous.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 10 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is great but some of the activities are subject to the choice of the platform/teacher because there are more than one ways to answer specially the complete the sentence or change sentence to have a similar meaning. Also the use of the vocabulary is mostly in British English so US spelling is taken as a fault!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 6 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
It is a good way to practise and improve your English skills with a variety exercises, but sometimes explanations are vague and not enough to achieve proposed exercises. Alsoyou need more time to complete every unit, very different from the time specified at the beginning of the course. Is a way to point out what topics you have to review or check again by your own.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
I am very happy to study English with EDX . I would like to recommend students to study in this platform.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 10 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
It is a good way to practise and improve your English skills with a variety exercises, but sometimes explanations are vague and not enough to achieve proposed exercises. Alsoyou need more time to complete every unit, very different from the time specified at the beginning of the course. Is a way to point out what topics you have to review or check again by your own.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 10 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
The course is great but some of the activities are subject to the choice of the platform/teacher because there are more than one ways to answer specially the complete the sentence or change sentence to have a similar meaning. Also the use of the vocabulary is mostly in British English so US spelling is taken as a fault!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Youssef Y
4.0 6 months ago
Youssef completed this course.
Well structured course that touches on differents aspects, it's content is explained thoroughly.

One issue though is that some questions are ambiguous, furthermore, the speaking activites are not working properly, other than that really useful and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
4.0 a week ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
the course is very good. We can practise talking, reading and speaking in different subjects. It helped to train my english. I recommend for everybody to take this course
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
2.0 8 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
It was overall good but i would like to say that there are so many useless thing which are not supposed to be there and exist as a part of content.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 6 months ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Wonderful courses

teachers

very clear examples

thank you also for the quality of the videos , the examples you include in every course
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 a month ago
Anonymous completed this course.
Je suis très satisfaits avec vos course et j'espère que ça va m'aider beaucoup à améliorer la carrière professionnelle
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
It gives Alot of knowledge about unknown news,very helpful and knowledge seeking course. I'm very eager to check what's new.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 4 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
This course is worth doing it. I am very eager to go to the next page to see what is waiting. Very interesting course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
Anonymous
5.0 2 months ago
Anonymous is taking this course right now.
Fantastic learning. I would love to continue to study with this course in order to achieve next level of my english.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes
  • 1

Class Central

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.

Sign up for free

Never stop learning Never Stop Learning!

Get personalized course recommendations, track subjects and courses with reminders, and more.